top of page

Field Trip!

When I got to the museum this morning Jill was out running errands but I wasn’t standing around long before Alyce, the secretary, roped me into helping her put mailing labels on the newsletters. Let me tell you, that is a very labor-intensive activity, especially when the stickers refuse to stick. Once Jill got back she gave me an assignment: going through the archived documents related to their African American history exhibit, inventorying everything and making new finding aids. I completed that assignment quickly and efficiently and was pleasantly surprised to find an article by Dr. Hardy among the collection. In the midst of all that, Joe dropped by and gave me an article to read about what museum directors are looking for in applicants for entry-level positions. It was an enlightening read and made me even more thankful to have an internship under my belt. After I finished my assignment, Jill announced that she, Joe and I were going on a field trip. An elderly woman and her husband wanted us to come check out some things they wanted to leave to the museum in their will. It was a neat trip. The couple had two houses built in the 1830s and they were filled with beautiful historic pieces. Trips like that are a part of the job that I hadn’t really thought about. It was great fun though!

Recent Posts: 
Search By Tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page