top of page

Another Busy Friday

It was another busy day with work starting the moment I walked in. I transcribed an old sign from one of the Haines Mill which is one of the historical society’s sites. Then I typed up revisions to the LCHS's Ethics Policies. After that, I inventoried a donation that we were planning to look through last week. It’s always fascinating to look through things and find the threads of stories among them. Donations come in and frequently don’t have labels or any sort of information to go with them so it’s up to us to figure out how things are connected. I think that is one of my favorite parts of the job. A bit later I spent some time putting together a brief biography of Elsie Singmaster and looked up a couple quotes from her short stories. The one made me die laughing and I don't even know if it was meant to be funny in the way that it was. Two girls were sitting on a bed, one was swinging her legs and shaking the bed and her friend turns to her and says "Do you want to die?” In my head it sounded just like something my sister or I would say. After that, Priscilla showed me around the storage rooms, which were very cool but very disorganized. I just wanted to run around and put everything in place. Just before I was going to leave for the day, Joe also had me critique the speech he is giving in Harrisburg, it was nice to put my public speaking skills to good use and he seemed to appreciate my input.

Recent Posts: 
Search By Tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page