top of page

In My Own Little Corner


I was working from the moment I walked in the door this morning. Jill greeted me and then told me my first assignment was to help Carol find information about William Doster, who was a lawyer from Bethlehem that defended two of the conspirators in the Lincoln assassination. I found a ton of information in no time, including the transcript of his opening arguments. After that I went upstairs to my little corner cubicle to do some more accessioning. I finished the box that I was halfway through and went back and photographed everything (the picture above is of a standard military issue shaving kit from the Spanish American War). Then I went through another box, photographing and accessioning items. I got halfway through that one and then it was time to go. I know it doesn't sound like I did a whole lot, but the process of photographing and accessioning items is painstakingly detailed. Just one thing wrong and it can screw up the whole system. I’ve definitely learned that being as thorough as possible right off the bat can save so much time and effort later. There have been several times when I’ve gone into the archives trying to find an artifact but I don’t even know what I’m looking for because the description in the database is incomplete.

Recent Posts: 
Search By Tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page